Biosphere reserves

Biophere Reserves

The concept of Biosphere Reserves was introduced and established under auspices of United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) on Man and Biosphere Programme (MAB) during 1971. A Biosphere Reserve is voluntary, co-operative, conservation area created to protect the biological and cultural diversity of a region while promoting sustainable economic development. It provides an opportunity to scientists and managers to experiment and co-operate in generating data for understanding man’s impact on nature. It is a place where local people, government officials and environmental groups work collaboratively on conservation and developmental issues. The Biosphere Reserve concept is crucial to achieving MAB’s objective of striking a balance between conserving biodiversity, encouraging economic and social development and preserving cultural values.

Biosphere Reserves are areas of terrestrial and coastal/marine ecosystems where, through appropriate zoning patterns and management mechanisms, the conservation of ecosystems and their biodiversity is ensured.

There are two Biosphere Reserve in Kerala sharing its portions with adjoining States and are named as Nilgiri Biosphere Reserve and Agasthyamalai Biosphere Reserve



Name of BR

Extent (Sq. Km)

Forests areas included as Kerala part


Nilgiri Biosphere Reserve


·         Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary

·         Silent valley National Park

·         Nilambur South (New Amarambalam, Karimpuzha)

·         Mannarkkad (Attappady)

·         Palakkad (Siruvani Reserved Forests)

·         Nilambur North, (Chakkikuzhy, Kozhipara, Punchakolly, Ex.Karulai Range (Nilambur Kovilakom)

·         Kozhikode (kuttyadi, Thamarassery, Vested Forests)

·         Wayanad South (Kalpetta)


Agasthyamalai Biosphere Reserve


·         Neyyar

·         Peppara and

·         Shendurney wildlife sanctuaries

·         Achencoil

·         Thenmala

·         Konni

·         Punalur and

·         Thiruvananthapuram territorial divisions and

·         Agasthyavanam Biological Park Range.


   Copyright Kerala Forest Department
   Designed by