World Heritage site

World Heritage Site


The World Heritage Committee an independent body of 21 States Parties to the 1972 World Heritage Convention, of UNESCOconsidered the inscription of forest areas of   the Western Ghats on the World Heritage List in the meeting held from 24 June to 6 July, in Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation. The mountain chain of the Western Ghats represents geomorphic features of immense importance with unique biophysical and ecological processes. The site’s high montane forest ecosystems influence the Indian monsoon weather pattern. Moderating the tropical climate of the region, it presents one of the best examples of the monsoon system in the planet. The site also has an exceptionally high level of biological diversity and endemism. It is recognized as one of the world’s eight “hottest hotspots” of biological diversity. The forests of the site include some of the best representatives of non-equatorial tropical evergreen forests anywhere and are home to at least 325 globally threatened flora, fauna, bird, amphibian, reptile and fish species.



The areas of Western Ghats included in the World Heritage Site are as follows

·         Agasthyamalai Sub Cluster

o    Shendurney Wildlife Sanctuary

o    Neyyar Wildlife Sanctuary

o    Peppara Wildlife Sanctuary

o    Kulathupuzha Range

o    Palode Range

·         Periyar Sub Cluster

o    Periyar Tiger Reserve

o    Ranni Division

o    Konni Division

o    Achencovil Division

·         Anamalai Sub Cluster

o    Eravikulam National Park

o    Mankulam Division

o    Chinnar Wildlife Sanctuary

o    Mannavan Shola

o    Karianshola

·         Nilgiri Sub Cluster

o    Silent Valley National Park

o    New Amarambalam Reserve Forests

o    Kalikavu Range

o    Attappady Reserve Forests.

·         Thalakkavery Sub Cluster

o        Aralam Wildlife Sanctuary

   Copyright Kerala Forest Department
   Designed by